collapse

Author Topic: Belgrave Victoria Sapphires  (Read 18381 times)

DB Cooper

Belgrave Victoria Sapphires
« on: March 23, 2016, 01:38:07 PM »
Hi all, This is my first time posting something. Back in 1972 when I was a boy I used to go to Belgrave in Victorias Dandenong Ranges with a mate & pan for Sapphires in a creek close to town, we used to find lots of dark blue Sapphires, does anyone know if they are still found out in those ranges these days? Is fossicking still allowed?.
I wouldn't mind going back in & see if I can locate the spot , I think it was Just under the old Timber Trestle Bridge that Puffing Billy still uses.

Bucket

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
Re: Belgrave Victoria Sapphires
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2016, 05:51:52 PM »
Welcome DB Cooper. As a teenager in the early '70's I also sieved for sapphire and zircons in the same area. And yes it was almost directly below the Puffing Billy Trestle bridge. As this spot now falls in the Sherbrooke National Park, any fossicking would be frowned upon and would probably bring a visit from at least a park ranger, if not the local constabulary, which aren't far from there.

If I recall they were small stones and I would imagine that area would have been well dug prior to the national park inclusion. A lot of creeks on that area contain stones but they are generally very small. Cardinia Creek, now below the Cardinia dam was a popular fossicking spot before being dammed with agate, zircon and sapphires being readily available.
Common sense isn't exactly common

DB Cooper

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2016, 06:10:54 PM »
Thanks Bucket, We might have just missed each other way back then! yes, they were small stones that I also used to find, I remember the running steam was crystal clear & shallow , probably got housing development drainage running into it these days, anyway thanks for the info. As I am getting back into looking for Sapphires ( after a 43 year break), any suggestions on where I Could start?