collapse

Author Topic: Good Value Faceting Book for Beginners  (Read 3754 times)

Aleks

• ALF'er Bronze Member
Good Value Faceting Book for Beginners
« on: June 01, 2017, 06:56:12 PM »
Hi,

I am a novice facet cutter looking for my first text book. There are a few reference texts that seem to get a few recommendations, here are a few that I am considering:

Introduction to Meetpoint Faceting (R. Long and N, Steele), 1985, 126 pages, ~USD$23.50
LEARN TO FACET THE RIGHT WAY (J. Graham), ?, 58 pages, ~USD$22.50
Faceting for Amateurs (G. Vargas and M. Vargas), 1989, 340 pages, ~USD$52.00
The Techniques of Master Faceting (G. Wykoff), 1985, 234 pages, ~USD$34.00
Facet Cutters Handbook (E. Soukup), 1986, 64 pages, ~USD$6.00
FACETING THE EASY WAY (D. Clark), ?, ? pages, ~USD$? (OOP and hard to find?)
Amateur Gemstone Faceting Volume 1: The Essentials (T. Herbst), 2014, 428 pages, ~USD$27.00
Cutting Gemstones: A beginners guide to faceting (J. Broadfoot, P. Collins), 2003, 282 pages, ~AUD$69.00

These numbers exclude postage costs. But from what I can see, Amateur Gemstone Faceting Vol. 1 seems like the best value for money and seems to contain everything to get started and develop some skill. The facet cutters handbook is also quite affordable, but seems to contain quite a few basic facet designs which are readily available online. My guess is that
Amateur Gemstone Faceting Vol. 1 would cover most of the contents of The facet cutters handbook and much, much more.

So I'm thinking of getting Amateur Gemstone Faceting Vol. 1 as my first text on the subject. But I would really like to hear the thoughts of those much wiser than me here on ALF!

Many thanks!

Aleks.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2017, 11:48:57 AM by Aleks »

Aussie Sapphire

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
    • Aussie Sapphire
Re: Good Value Faceting Book for Beginners
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2017, 07:29:01 PM »
I would recommend the Amateur Gemstone Faceting book.