collapse

Author Topic: Rock to tumbling in Samford/Dayboro area  (Read 4417 times)

LukeFly

• ALF'er Bronze Member
Rock to tumbling in Samford/Dayboro area
« on: December 27, 2018, 11:15:37 AM »
Hello Everyone,

I am very new to the geology world. I am looking for an activity to do with my son, so I thought we would give rock tumbling a go.

I have read that you can collect various stones for tumbling at Redcliffe, Brisbane area. I was wondering if there would be an areas around Samford or Dayboro where I could collect any sort of rock that would be worth polishing up in a tumbling?

Cheers
Luke

Rusted

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
Re: Rock to tumbling in Samford/Dayboro area
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2018, 01:16:37 PM »
Welcome LukeFly.
I'm not too sure about Brisbane environs so I will leave that to the locals, but you are right Fossicking for gemstones is a great activity to do with your boy, I always say the best thing about it is it forces you to slow down and have a good look around.

Lots of nice Petrified Wood, Agate and jaspers around South East Queensland a little bit further afield.

Gemster

• ALF'er VIP
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2018, 03:11:06 PM »
G-day LukeFly and Welcome to ALF... You can start off by just walking any creeks near you and collecting anything that catches your eye... Look for Rocks with lines through them or 'Pretty' colours...
   The rock you mentioned at Redcliff is a type of Chalcedony.. Google for some pics... It is collected by just walking the Mud flats at low tide... Just watch out you don't pick-up a Stone fish as they are also in the same area... There are other locations on the north side but I don't know what is around... You can also buy rough tumbling material at gem and mineral shows, and Brisbane have a few every year... Or join your Local Lapidary/Gem club and you will get some from there and they will also advise you on how and what to Tumble...