collapse

Author Topic: Emerald step cut problems  (Read 235 times)

mobbsygem

• View Profile
Emerald step cut problems
« on: September 08, 2020, 08:14:06 AM »
Hi everybody, I am new to faceting and trying to do a Emerald step cut, but I am having problems understanding how to keep the stone rectangle, my stone is to one side of the dopstick, if I keep cutting I think it become square, and if I use the micro metre to keep it rectangle will that throw out the rest of the facets, I am using a VJ, thank you

Bucket

• ALF'er VIP
    • View Profile
Re: Emerald step cut problems
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2020, 09:18:34 AM »
Welcome to the forum, mobbsygem. You have to adjust the height of the quill to obtain your rectangle. You're right if you just keep following the pattern, you will end up with a square. Normally you will find in the pattern a suggested L/W ratio, you can only obtain this by readjusting your quill height. Are you a member of a lapidary club? If so you should seek instruction from a facetor (if there are any) there, they'll help out.
Common sense isn't exactly common

Rusted

• ALF'er Platinum
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2020, 10:44:03 AM »
Which design are you cutting? For a first stone you can't go past Easy Emerald  by Jeff Graham. Basically what he does is cut the long sides and short sides first, then after the long sides and short sides line up around the stone and meet at the corners cut in the corner facets.