collapse

Author Topic: Secondary market research  (Read 5947 times)

rockhound777

• ALF'er Bronze Member
Secondary market research
« on: October 10, 2016, 08:20:57 PM »
Hello,

Im fairly new to the gem world, and am trying to do some market research before I start a gem business. Can anyone point me in the right direction for facts and figures for gem and crystal sales in Australia?

Many thanks in advance,

Ben

mehoose

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
Re: Secondary market research
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2016, 08:34:12 PM »
Well, can't help with your question but I have a few for you...which might narrow things down for someone else who might be able to help.

What materials exactly are you considering and quality of to have on offer?
Rough, facet or cab? Finished, facet or cab? Big honking high end specimens or the other end of the scale?

Are you able to take high quality photos if you're thinking of being web based?

What are your qualifications?
 Yes I know of a few folk who don't have qual's who do buy and sell but for some materials you really should be able to ascertain whether it's natural or man made and if natural, do you have the knowledge to detect treatments?

I'm not trying to say don't do it but these are some things you'll need to take into consideration.
Keep em comin!!!

Jimnyjerry

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
  • balts pingvins
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2016, 09:33:44 PM »
Going to a local large gem and lapidary show will give you an idea of what is being offered etc. Look at what is being offered on ebay for Australia. There are also facebook pages that are of interest.

If you are just doing it online that cuts out travel, camping/accomodation and insurance as a trader etc. but you miss out on the interaction with real people.

:)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days attack me at once.

mehoose

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2016, 09:47:42 PM »
Absolutely Jer.