collapse

Author Topic: Homemade vibratory tumbler  (Read 6497 times)

Rockette

• ALF'er Bronze Member
Homemade vibratory tumbler
« on: May 12, 2018, 12:52:05 PM »
Hi all, total newbie here wanting some expert tips. After a bit collecting of pretty rocks while we are camping I looked into tumbling but couldn't afford a machine. I like the rocks as they come just wanted them to be shiny so seemed to me that a vibe tumbler was what I wanted, so even more expensive.
My houseshold is full of engineers and handymen and they soon decided (after a bit of YouTube watching) to make me one. It works a treat! But of course comes with no instructions. We do have a prospecting & fossicking supply shop in town and the nice people there got me going with an Aussie Sapphire grit and polish kit and some words of wisdom. All my rocks are quartz but keen to go looking for others.
While I get, from reading here and other forums, that tumbling is not a perfect science and that all machines are different, it seems to me slurry consistency is the most important thing.
Sooo ... Finally to my questions,
Consistency of "Pancake batter", is this right?
Is that then the same for all 4 stages? Or is pre-polish and polish "runnier"?
Are glass beads or decorating pebbles (that you put in vases) OK to use as filler in last two stages? Plastic pellets sink to the bottom.
Thanks in advance for any help. Halfway through my first batch and very excited to see the results.
Rock on!

Rusted

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
Re: Homemade vibratory tumbler
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2018, 07:29:49 AM »
Welcome to the forum

Vibe tumblers can be a bit tricky to get the hang of.

You need very little water, start with the rocks wet then empty all the water out. It's the same with grit, too much and it will cake in the bottom.
I can't recommend a quantity of grit because I have no idea what size barrel you are running.