collapse

Author Topic: Birthday Ring!!  (Read 4415 times)

moonshadow_dancer

• ALF'er VIP
  • Gems are like Rainbows...becoming rarer!!!
Birthday Ring!!
« on: December 23, 2008, 09:19:06 AM »
This is a ring I had made for my other halfs Birthday last year, the stone is a 10mm octagonal syn Ruby I cut in my favourite flower design the waratah. I designed this pattern in 1998 originally for a competition to design a cut uniquely australian, so I chose the state flower of my birthstate NSW. I first designed it on paper with a pencil and ruler. I was very new to faceting at that stage, and I had no idea what I was doing. In 2005 I redesigned it on Gemcad which made it easier for me to cut. I am not very good with macro mode on my camera so it isn't the best pictures, but more of a general idea of what I did. To date this is still my favourite design. (Could it be that I am proud of its humble beginnings  :) )

This is the ring, note the gemcad design under the ring box.

This is the side, not the best picture, mainly to show the flames, as my other half loves campfires and I wanted his ring to be original.
Ron and I have an Appointment to do some Laps ;) ;D

Nifty

• ALF'er Bronze Member
Re: Birthday Ring!!
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2008, 01:11:36 PM »
Hi moonshodow.
 I like the design of the ring and the dragonfly, is there way that you could share the details of the cut with me as I would like to cut them.  Is gemcad hard to use? I have looked on the web site (USA) Is there any where in Aust you can buy it?
Nifty
To you all have a very happy Christmas and will chat in the new year beers beers beers beers

moonshadow_dancer

• ALF'er VIP
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2008, 01:33:06 PM »
Hi Nifty,