collapse

Author Topic: motor for tumbler  (Read 7901 times)

wickedwitch

• ALF'er Bronze Member
motor for tumbler
« on: April 05, 2009, 05:53:08 PM »
Hi
 I have just acquired a robuilt tumbler complete which has never been used, but to drive it I need a 1/4 hp motor with a 2 inch pulley. I have no experience with tumblers and am wondering it anyone has any idea where I can get one of theses motors, or am I better off to buy a new tumbler with motor included. I am in Tassie. Nothing on ebay right now. Can I use a higher hp perhaps, or use a motor from something else? Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks

Wickedwitch
« Last Edit: April 05, 2009, 06:09:39 PM by wickedwitch »

fossickeract

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
Re: motor for tumbler
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2009, 06:54:33 PM »
Washing machines and fridges have just the thing a repair business should be able to fix you up cheaply.
           beers Ted
Life isn't a rehearsal.

moonshadow_dancer

• ALF'er VIP
  • Gems are like Rainbows...becoming rarer!!!
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2009, 09:23:47 PM »
I had a washing machine motor fitted to my gemmasta facet machine when I went to California and OMG!!!! did that machine more and groove. I would go the washing machine motor for sure.

Take Care,
Deb  ;D
Ron and I have an Appointment to do some Laps ;) ;D

Andrew

• ALF'er VIP
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2009, 07:39:28 AM »

Good advice,if you use a old washing machine motor just be sure its wired safely,some of the modern machines dont have fully enclosed wiring like older models. Not good to be Zapped to save a few dollars.
  New motors in stock at link ( we supply pulleys as required):
http://www.aussiesapphire.com.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=86&products_id=1289

Cheers Andrew

llarson

• ALF'er Gold Member
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2009, 02:29:16 AM »