collapse

Author Topic: Lapidary newbie here. Questions about rock tumbling!  (Read 7374 times)

Zmaj

Lapidary newbie here. Questions about rock tumbling!
« on: August 23, 2010, 11:26:17 AM »
Hello to everyone :)

I'm a hobbyist jewelry maker, and recently I've gained more interest in the idea of polishing gemstone roughs to use in my work.

I'm physically disabled and wheelchair bound, so I'm staying away from the harder stones like Sapphire and sticking to what I'm really more interested in like quartz, and beryls, all at very small sizes under 1.5". My parents help me with anything I need to do for my hobby that requires more demanding work, but I'm not planning to cut/facet my tumbled stones or make cabs; strictly for wirewrapping projects.

I'm looking at the Lortone 3A basic rotary rock tumbler kit, and I'd like to hear any tips and feedback from experienced users! What gemstones should I be looking at that's at the softer end of the spectrum?

Would small Emerald/beryl roughs be too much work to manage? I'd like to polish Amber, but would Amber be too soft and delicate to use in a tumbler? If amber is okay, should each amber copal rough be tumbled on its own or can they be tumbled together?

Regarding the rock tumbler itself... How much noise does it make, and does the instruction manual clearly instruct you on how to perform maintenance and check for any problems like leakages?

Thanks in advance :)

mehoose

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
Re: Lapidary newbie here. Questions about rock tumbling!
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 02:53:31 PM »
Hi Zmaj, (James b'wards?) anywho, welcome to ALF.
Tumbling is not my thing but it is for others. Have a read through the Tumblers and Media section to pick up some tips hints.
I don't see why you couldn't tumble Amber but I wouldn't be putting anything else other than Amber in with it. Whatever you put in, try and use material of the same hardness on the Moh scale.
Keep em comin!!!

Aussie Sapphire

• Administrator