collapse

Author Topic: Diamond Smoothing Disks  (Read 10114 times)

Taz

• ALF'er Gold Member
    • Australian Lapidary Club Directory
Diamond Smoothing Disks
« on: February 05, 2015, 09:19:43 PM »
I recently purchased some diamond smoothing disks from Aussie Sapphire so that I could do some cabbing on my faceting machine but I'm finding them far from aggressive.  I have a 325, 600 and 3000.  I've never used them before but I'm finding that the 325 hardly marks the polish on a cab of larimar that I'm reworking; the other two are much the same and don't work as expected.  Has anyone had any experience with this type of disk?  Do they need to be broken in before they work well or is there some other trick to them?  ??? ??? ???

Thanks
Taz
« Last Edit: February 05, 2015, 09:21:17 PM by Taz »

Aussie Sapphire

• Global Moderator
  • ALF'er VIP
    • Aussie Sapphire
Re: Diamond Smoothing Disks
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2015, 07:48:57 AM »
Hi Taz,

Hopefully others will chip in as well but just a few thoughts:

a) what speed are you running at?  Would recommend running these faster than you normally would on a faceting machine.  The Hi-Tech machines that these pads are supplied with run at 2400 rpm so may be quite a bit faster than you normally work at.

b)  although they go down to #325, they are only for smoothing, not for serious removal of material.  Electroplated laps will be more aggressive than these resin bond types.

c) yes, breaking in should be beneficial.  As the diamond is embedded throughout the resin bond, it can sometimes be helpful to dress them to remove some excess resin and expose more of the diamond particles.  Lightly go over with some abrasive material if needed.

I think flashgp uses these??  We sell a lot of them but that name springs to mind on the member list here. Perhaps he can also help with some advice.

cheers
Leah
Aussie Sapphire - The Lapidary Warehouse

Taz

• ALF'er Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2015, 04:06:45 PM »