collapse

Author Topic: Some Tumbling Questions  (Read 5898 times)

johnc

• ALF'er Bronze Member
Some Tumbling Questions
« on: December 31, 2008, 09:00:55 AM »
I'm a very newbie tumbler so I have lots of questions which you guys might be able to answer...

How do you know how much grit to put in?

Can you re-use the grit?   If so, is there a way to clean it or separate it from the sludge?

I got some little plastic balls to put in to my tumbler.  Should I only use those during later phases or all the time?  How many do I put in?  The ones I have tried just seem to float.  I wouldnt have thought they would do that much if they are just floating.

Is there an optimal speed for a tumbler?

Am I ok mixing stones together if they have the same moh's hardness scale?  I've currently got petrified wood, agate, opal, and some amethyst.  So far it seems to be going ok.

Thanks in advance for your helpful replies.
John.

Aussie Sapphire

• Administrator
  • ALF'er VIP
    • Aussie Sapphire
Re: Some Tumbling Questions
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2008, 09:52:23 AM »
Gday John,

Calx can probably give you some good tips as well but here are some thoughts to go along with:

How do you know how much grit to put in?
Trial and error.  But as a guide, start with this:  for a standard 3 pound barrel, try about 4 tables of 80 and 220 grit, maybe a touch more when you get to the 600 and polish.  Adjust to suit your barrel size.

Have a look at this website for some ideas:
http://geology.com/rock-tumbler/rock-tumbler-instructions.shtml

Can you re-use the grit?
I probably wouldnt reuse the grinding grit but you certainly can reuse polish for a while.  Need to recharge it when it starts to get a bit "weak".

See this website for instructions on this (and other good stuff):
http://silgro.com/RockTumbling/03_MoreAdvice.htm#ReusePolish

I got some little plastic balls to put in to my tumbler.